The Hollister-Parry House, located at 217 Eastern Avenue, is the anchor of this museum experience. It was constructed in 1858 by a lawyer named Nathan Hollister. Sold to Dr. Thomas Armstrong in 1882, it was rented out for a brief period and used as the Monroe County Children's Home. In 1889, Dr. Armstrong's partner, Dr. John R. Parry, bought the ten-room home and it remained in the Parry family until 1974, when the Monroe County Park District bought the furnished house and surrounding five acres from the Parry estate. The museum and property are now leased to the Monroe County Historical Society, which features guest speakers, special displays and events so visitors can appreciate the early history of Monroe County life and see what life was like for an upper-middle class family of the late 1800s. The park also acquired and relocated the Yaussy-Winkler Dairy, built in the late 1890s. The dairy barn is typical of German-Swiss structure. The dairy barn displays all of the cheese-making equipment, including a dog-powered butter churn.The Oak Ridge-Byers Stone Schoolhouse, in use from 1895-1919, is another museum visitors won't want to miss. The one-room schoolhouse is a valuable resource for those interested in past educational practices from the days of lunch pails, outhouses and the communal bucket of spring water with one dipper.
Features & Amenities
Admission: Donation Free On-site Parking Handicap-Accessible Call to Schedule a Tour
Share this listing
Ohio. Find It Here. Newsletter
Find travel inspiration for your next trip, get the latest Ohio news & find out about great events with our monthly newsletter!