About Zoar Village

This quaint German village was founded in 1817 by religious dissenters called the Society of Separatists, who named their village Zoar, meaning "place of refuge". Zoar today is an island of Old-World charm in east-central Ohio. Many of the German-style structures built by the Zoarites have been restored and are open to the public as Zoar Village State Memorial. Others are privately-owned, and serve as residences, shops, restaurants and bed and breakfast inns.Visitors can experience the life of the agrarian Separatists by visiting the eleven restored buildings (recently added Town Hall Museum, and Ohio Erie Canal Museum, Number One House, or "Kings Palace", Kitchen, Dining Room/Magazine Complex, Garden House, Bakery, Tinshop, Dairy and Springhouse , Wagon Shop, Blacksmith Shop and the original Zoar Store).

Features & Amenities

Free Parking; $8 – Adults; $4 – Children; 12 and under free; OHS Members free

Share this listing

X